Wx3270/Help/Profiles

From The x3270 Wiki
< Wx3270‎ | Help
wx3270 profiles and connections

This window allows profiles and connections to be created, edited and deleted.

Top button bar

The top button bar contains several buttons.

🗲 New Connection
Creates a new connection in the current profile.
🗲 Disconnect
Breaks the current connection.
↶ (Undo)
Reverses the most recent operation. Operations include both profile / connection operations and changes to settings.
↷ (Redo)
Reinstates the most recently reversed operation. Operations include both profile / connection operations and changes to settings.

The tree

The main part of the window is a tree. The levels in the tree are:

Wx3270-folder-icon.png Folder
A folder containing profiles.
    Wx3270-profile-icon.png Profile
    A file containing settings and connection definitions. The name of current profile is underlined.
        Wx3270-connection-icon-normal.png Connection
        The description of a connection to make to a host or local command. This includes connection-specific settings. Other settings are inherited from the profile that the connection is contained in.

There are special variants of some of the icons:

Wx3270-folder-default-icon.png Default profile
This icon is used to identify the default profile (the profile that is used when no specific profile is given on the command line).
Wx3270-profile-keymap-icon.png Keyboard map template
A profile containing only a small number of keymap entries, indented for merging into other profiles.
Wx3270-profile-keypad-icon.png Keypad map template
A profile containing only a small number of keypad map entries, intended for merging into other profile.
Wx3270-folder-broken-icon.png Broken profile
A profile that formatted incorrectly or contains invalid data.
Wx3270-connection-icon-auto.png Connection with auto-connect
A connection that will be automatically set up when the profile is opened.

Mouse click operations

A single click on any item in the tree selects that item.

Clicking again on a selected profile or connection allows it to be renamed.

Double-clicking on a profile either switches to that profile (if there is a no active connection), or opens it in a new window (if there is an active connection).

Double-clicking on a connection either causes that connection to be established (if there is a no active connection), or opens it in a new window (if there is an active connection).

Double-clicking a profile or connection with the Shift key pressed always opens a new wx3270 window.

Right-clicking on any entry pulls up a menu with the available operations on that object.

Drag and drop

Drag and drop is used for several operations:

To drag and drop, left-click on the object to be dragged and hold down the mouse button. Then drag the object onto the other object to drag it onto.

The special Default Values entry

At the bottom of the tree, there is a special profile labeled <Default Values>. This profile is used with drag and drop in two ways:

  • When dragged onto a folder, it causes a new profile to be created.
  • When dragged onto an existing profile, it allows selected parts of that profile to be replaced with default values, with a merge operation.

Lower buttons

Common buttons

✎ Edit
Edits the selected item. When a profile is edited (versus being switched to), auto-connect is not active.
Duplicate
Creates a copy of the selected item.
Rename
Renames the item. This can also be done by clicking on an item that is already selected.
Shortcut
Creates a desktop shortcut to the selected item.
❌ Delete
Deletes the selected item.

Connection buttons

➕ New
Creates a new connection within the selected profile.
🗲 Connect
Connects to the selected connection.

Profile buttons

➕ New
Creates a new profile within the selected folder.
→ Switch to
Opens the selected profile, with auto-connect.
← Merge
Merges from the selected profile into the current profile.
↓ Import
This button has two purposes: Importing an existing wc3270 session into the selected profile, and copying an existing wx3270 profile into the selected or current folder.
↑ Export
Copies the selected profile into an external folder.
Set as default
Makes the selected profile the default profile (the profile used when no profile is specified on the command line).

Folder buttons

➕ New
Creates a new folder to contain wx3270 profiles, or adds an existing folder to the Profiles and Connections tree. When an existing folder is added to the tree, all of its sub-folders are also added.
Stop watching
Removes a folder from the Profiles and Connections tree. The actual Windows folder is not removed.

See also

Wx3270/Help/Merge